I have to say I have always considered myself a Liberal in every sense of the word. I took the words of our former president to heart:
John F. Kennedy defined liberalism this way:
“If by a ‘Liberal’ they mean someone who looks ahead and not behind, someone who welcomes new ideas without rigid reactions, someone who cares about the welfare of the people — their health, their housing, their schools, their jobs, their civil rights, and their civil liberties — someone who believes we can break through the stalemate and suspicions that grip us in our policies abroad, if that is what they mean by a ‘Liberal,’ then I’m proud to say I’m a ‘Liberal.’[3]

This definition that President Kennedy gave us, was true to me. I have never doubted what it stood for, or its meaning. But today, I see things a little different. Our news media, MSNBC and CNN have begun showing us what their idea of a liberal is. Somehow, what I see does not reflect JFK’s words. Maybe I was wrong all those years? Or Maybe JFK was wrong?

If being a liberal means that you have to bash women, and uphold Obama. Then I guess I have gotten it all wrong, for a long time. Kieth Olbermann, educated me on this fact, just the other night. His clearly sexist comments, showed the true person he is. Here are just a few of his words;

“Senator, as it has reached its apex in their tone deaf, arrogant and insensitive reaction to the remarks of Geraldine Ferraro, your own advisers are slowly killing your chances to become president. Senator, their words and your own are now slowly killing the chances for any Democrat to become president. In your tepid response to this Ferraro disaster, you may sincerely think you dis enthralling an enchanted media and righting an unfair advance bestowed on Senator Obama.”

This quote makes it seem that Olbermann is clearly angry because maybe the ‘obamaites‘ may loose to McCain.

Then Kieth goes on:

The next day, she repeated her comments and a reporter from the newspaper in Torrence, California heard them; “If Obama was a white man, he would not be in this position. If he was a woman of any color, he would not be in this position. He happens to be very lucky to be who he is and the country is caught up in the concept.”

And when this despicable statement, ugly in its overtones, laughable in its week grip of the facts, and moronic in the historical context, when it floats outward from the Clinton campaign like a poison cloud, what do the advisers have their candidate do?

Then last of all, Kieth has a message about Hillary supporters.

“To Senator Clinton`s supporters, to her admirers, to her friends for whom she is first choice and to her friends for whom she is second choice, she is still letting herself be perceived as standing next to and standing by racial divisiveness and blindness. Worse yet, after what President Clinton said during the South Carolina primary, comparing the Obama and Jesse Jackson campaigns, a disturbing but only border line remark, after what some in the black community have perceived as a racial undertone to the 3:00 a.m. ad, a disturbing but only borderline interpretation, and after the moments hesitation in her own answer on “60 Minutes” about Obama’s religion, a disturbing but only borderline vagueness — after those precedents, there are those who see a pattern. False or true, they see it. After those precedents, there are those who see an intent. False or true, they see it. After those precedents, there are those that see the Clinton campaign`s anything but benign neglect of the Ferraro catastrophe, falsely or truly, as a desire to hear the kind of casual prejudice which still haunts the society voiced, and to not distance the campaign from it.

This, Senator Clinton, is your campaign and it is your name. Grab the reigns back from whoever has led you to this precipice before it is too late. Voluntarily or inadvertently, you are still awash in this filth. Your only reaction has been to disagree, reject, to call it regrettable. Her only reaction has been to brand herself as the victim and resign from your committee and insist she will continue to speak. Unless, senator, you say something definitive, the former congresswoman is speaking with your approval. “

I have to admit, I must have been wrong, I was under the impression that Obama was the arrogant one. Not Hillary, and calling the Clinton’s racist must be ok for today’s media. Even CNN has referred to the former First lady as a “Bi**h” For this they have tried to correct the problem, by saying. “Last time I was on the roundtable I was trying to make a point about Senator Clinton’s toughness and strength, which I respect, and I chose the wrong words and the way to say it and, you know, I’m sorry I said it that way, it was the wrong thing.”
I for one, used to have more respect for the media. I also considered Olberman a liberal, just like me. Boy, was I wrong! If that’s a liberal, then either JFK’s words were wrong or I was. I have to admit, I did not watch the entire statement made by Olbermann. I couldn’t stand the Clinton bashing any longer and changed the channel.

I have to say I find myself watching more and more of FOX, which is strange in itself. Because in the 2000 election season, I stopped watching FOX news. They were the “Bush Cheerleaders”, I lost all respect for Fox news at that time. It has been my thought for years that FOX was a propaganda network for Bush and Rove. But now, it seems “freedom of Press” means, freedom to bash the Clinton’s.

Now MSNBC and CNN has become a propaganda network for Obama. They have become everything I despised about FOX. If MSNBC has done this for ratings, it hasn’t worked. One look at the graph, tells me that lots are still watching FOX. Much more than they do Olbermann.

In the 2007 year, FOX tripled MSNBC’s numbers. So does that mean, that there are less Liberals than we thought? If we use President Kennedy’s definition of a liberal, and take to heart his words. Then we have to look at all candidates as”equal”. Not take a sexist stance against Hillary. It seems clear that is the position MSNBC & CNN have taken.

The reason for the ratings, could be that the left, does not like to be told who they should vote for. That is clearly the position of MSNBC and Kieth Olbermann. The position they have taken, is not that of a liberal, but that of a sexist.

Which leads to the question, that how can a “free press” be a fair press? I have to say, I held the illusion that some mainstream media, was fair. But after this campaign, I find it impossible to find “Fair Press”. All cable news in based on opinion, not the facts. So, after reading, the definition of “free Press” I have found that this right, refers to freedom of opinion.

So, the media can lie, accuse or call names to anyone they please. I for one, will be tuning in to FOX. The brutal attacks on the Clinton’s over the past year, has left a bad taste in this liberals month.

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights states: “Everyone has the right to freedom of opinion and expression; this right includes freedom to hold opinions without interference, and impart information and ideas through any media regardless of frontiers”
