Today, I am straying from the theme of Native Americans.  Please forgive me, but this is something that needs to be seen and said.  It does involve all women of all race.  We must learn from the past, and never let this happen to any ameicans again.  The clips above are from a HBO film called “iron jawed angels”. I have to admit I had not seen it until, a member of my group brought it to my attention. 

The women were innocent and defenseless. And by the end of the night, they were barely alive. Forty prison guards wielding clubs and their warden’s blessing went on a rampage against the 33 women wrongly convicted of “obstructing sidewalk traffic.”

They beat Lucy Burn, chained her hands to the cell bars above her head and left her hanging for the night, bleeding and gasping for air. They hurled Dora Lewis into a dark cell, smashed her head against an iron bed and knocked her out cold Her cell mate, Alice Cosu, thought Lewis was dead and suffered a heart attack. Additional affidavits describe the guards grabbing, dragging, beating, choking, slamming, pinching, twisting and kicking the women.

Thus unfolded the “Night of Terror” on Nov. 15, 1917, when the warden at the Occoquan Workhouse in Virginia ordered his guards to teach a lesson to the suffragists imprisoned there because they dared to picket Woodrow Wilson’s White House for the right to vote.

For weeks, the women’s only water came from an open pail. Their food–all of it colorless slop–was infested with worms. When one of the leaders, Alice Paul, embarked on a hunger strike, they tied her to a chair, forced a tube down her throat and poured liquid into her until she vomited. She was tortured like this for weeks until word was smuggled out to the press.

So, refresh my memory. Some women won’t vote this year because–why, exactly? Because they do not like Obama? ? Or Hillary was the bes choice? Our vote doesn’t matter?

The Obama camp and the DNC have made it plain, “We are not wanted”.  The smears have begun against Gov. Palin, as I thought they would.  This is the very same thing they did to Hillary.  We as women cannot let this happen.  As a Native American, I know that we must learn from the past, and as A  American, I say we cannot let this happen.  Go to the polls in November, many women suffered greatly for us to have that opportunity. 

Does it matter that Gov. Palin’s daughter is 17 and having a child?  The answer is clear, no!  I had my first child at 17 and so did many of you.  Does that make us bad people?  No, it does not!  I am proud of my daughter, and my grandchildren.  

As A young women in the 1980’s, I was told I could not have a job, because they only hired men.  What would have happened, if they would have said we won’t hire you because of your race?  That would be entirely different I am sure. 

I admire Gov. Palin, for her strengths, she is a strong women and a great example of all those who came before her.  John McCain showed courage by naming her as his running mate.  So, a message to the Obama camp, go ahead smear her, I will still go to the polls in November and Vote for McCain/Palin.  There will be many like me, who will do the same.  For the very things you smear her about, I am proud.  Proud, that she has five children a job, and endless responcabilities. 

The truth is that the DNC will do anything to put women in their place! This is the lesson we must learn from these brave women, who stood up against the sexism of thier time, now it is our turn to stand up and vote!  

 

The sexist media, is doing thier job well, attacking any one who threatens to stand against Obama.  Let the courage of those who came before us, inspire us!

 

Timepassages

